APS Announces 2017 Support Employees of the Year

Arlington Public Schools is pleased to announce its 2017 Support Employees of the Year. These employees provide exceptional contributions, and demonstrate commitment, excellence and initiative in their field of work to support students and the instructional program. They also foster cooperative relationships with colleagues and the community while contributing to goals of the APS Strategic Plan.

The APS Support Employees of the Year and nominees will be recognized by the School Board along with the Teacher of the Year honoree and nominees and the APS Principal of the Year at the Celebration of Excellence ceremony at 6:30 p.m. on Tue, May 16 at Washington-Lee High School.This year’s Support Employees of the Year are:

  • Classroom Assistants: LaVerne Gant, Montessori Assistant at Drew Model School
  • Cafeteria Staff: Karen Key, Food Services Manager at Ashlawn Elementary School
  • Transportation Services Staff: Thomas Robinson, Bus Driver
  • Exempt Support Staff: Steven Bernheisel, Assistant Director of Maintenance
  • Administrative Support: Jane Magill, Tuckahoe Elementary School
  • Custodial and Maintenance Staff: Edwin Hernandez, Custodial Supervisor at Washington-Lee High School
  • Extended Day Staff: Tenita Mangum, Extended Day Assistant Supervisor at Drew Model School